Octology award 2011

The Octology award 2011 has been granted to: 

Dr Alexander Kukharsky/Александр Кухарский, who is a gay rights activist and founder of the civil rights defence group Wings/Крылья (St. Petersburg); 

Anonymous, an internationally operating community of internet and multimedia activists, for combating totalitarianism and for their outstanding contribution to the occupy movement.

The title King of fools 2011 has been granted to:

Dr Helmut Denk, current President of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, due to his misunderstanding of scientific scope; 

Bhumibol Adulyadej, also known as Rama IX, for sentencing of Ampon Tangnoppakul, who sent 4 SMS, considered defamatory to the Thai monarchy.

The Octology award was introduced 2010 in order to promote the fundamental and applied research in the field of Octology. An opposite award sentences the persons, who proved him- or herself as an anti-intellectual and able to multiplicate the foolishment, to carry the title King or Queen of fools. A list of laureates and further information are available on the Official site of the Octology award

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.